History is often written by the winners! It is rare that somebody would remember a runner up. But in some cases, the people that came in second were only at an arm’s-length away from grabbing that elusive number one spot.

When it comes to Formula 1, an arm’s length is enough to determine the winner and the loser. Mere seconds are enough to determine one ending up a step down on the winner’s podium and their fans losing the chance to win BetRegal Bonus Code.

Today we talk about the F1 greatest that has never won a title but had to qualify to do so. 

Didier Pironi

After the death of Villeneuve, Ferrari had their own Didier Pironi leading the Championship after nine races. However, tragedy struck again, this time during a practice session for the German Grand Prix. Pironi hit Alain Prost’s Renault and went flying through the air.

Didier luckily survived but ended up crushing both of his legs. Although he managed to walk again he never sat down in an F1 racer. History will remember Keke Rosberg as the eventual winner of the season.

Rubens Barrichello

With a record of 322 race starts, 14 pole positions, 11 career victories, 68 podiums, and 658 points and 0 titles to his name, Barrichello might be considered as the ultimate loser. But Rubens was a team player and accepted his number two spot at Ferrari after the great Michael Schumacher.

Rubens Barrichello finished second during the 2002 and 2004 seasons, while also grabbing the number three spot for the 2001 championship. However, he helped Ferrari grab five consecutive constructors’ championships from 2000 to 2005.

David Coulthard

Brian Snelson / CC BY (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)

Coulthard is the second driver in history with the most wins without a title standing at 13.

He showed early promise with Williams and ended the season on the third spot. Hopes for Coulthard got higher after joining McLaren in a much better car. He did show better as he went on to grab three more third-place finishes in the Championship in 97, 98, and 2000.

The closest he got to a victory was in 2001 when he finished second. But he wasn’t able to pass the legend that is Michael Schumacher. David ended his career in 2008 with Red Bull.

Gerhard Berger

Gerhard Berger is definitely the most experienced driver never to win an F1 Championship. He had 210 starts during 14 years of driving but still no title. Berger has a total of 10 victories during his career, 2 with Benetton, 5 with Ferrari, and 3 with McLaren. Additionally, he made it to the podium 48 times in total. The best he could manage was a number three spot in 1994 and 1998.

History also remembers Gerhard Berger for a vicious crash during the 1989 San Marino Grand Prix where his car burst into flames. But only a month after the incident Gerhard was back behind the wheel.

Mark Webber

Joost Rooijmans from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia / CC BY (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)

Mark Webber has 215 races, 13 pole positions, 9 wins, and 42 podiums all as a number two driver.

During his stint with the F1 championship, he appeared for several teams which include Jaguar, that he started with, Williams, and Red Bull.

The closest he got to winning the Formula One Championship was in 2010 but a bad tire strategy ruined his chances and saw him finishing number two overall after Vettel. Mark also had two third-place finishes during the season as well.